Home / Compare / Apps to quit vaping and nicotine, compared
Apps to quit vaping and nicotine, compared
Nicotine apps range from guided programs with coaches to simple private trackers. These four cover that range. The biggest differences are price, whether you get a structured program, and whether you need an account.
Fogless is our app. We include it, and for each of the others we say what it does well. Every fact was checked October 15, 2026 from the store listings and official sites linked at the bottom.
How to pick
- Pick QuitSure if you want a guided program and coaching to get off nicotine.
- Pick Smoke Free if you are quitting cigarettes and want missions and access to advisors.
- Pick I Am Sober if you want community, daily pledges and support for a wide range of habits.
- Pick Fogless if you have set your quit date and want a free private tracker that also measures how your focus and memory change, with no account.
At a glance
| QuitSure | Smoke Free | I Am Sober | Fogless | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Platforms | iPhone and Android apps | iPhone, Apple Watch and Android apps | iPhone, Apple Watch, Mac and Android apps | Any web browser: iPhone, Android, desktop. Can be added to the home screen and works offline. |
| Habits covered | Cigarettes, vapes, e-cigarettes, chewing tobacco and other nicotine | Smoking and tobacco. Vaping support is not stated in the listings. | 131 options across 13 categories, including alcohol, nicotine, cannabis, other drugs, food, gambling and technology | Weed, nicotine or vaping, alcohol, or a custom habit |
| Price | Free download with a 3-day trial on iOS. QuitSure Original is about $40 to $50 per month and Relaxed is about $20 to $25 per month, depending on country. | Core features free. Pro and advisor plans are paid in-app purchases on iOS ranging from $0.99 to $209.99. | Free. Sober Plus on iOS: $9.99 per month, $27.49 for 6 months, $29.99 or $39.99 for 12 months. | Free. Pro is $4.99 per month or $29 per year. |
| Account needed | Yes, an account is required | Optional, used to back up and restore data | Optional. The app can be used anonymously. An account needs an email. | No account. No email. |
| Brain or cognitive tests | No cognitive tests found | No cognitive tests found | No cognitive tests found | Yes. Three tests (reaction time, number memory, flanker focus) scored against your own first check. |
| Community | Yes, in-app community | Chatroom with advisor clinics in Pro | Yes, large. Opens after 5 daily pledges. | No |
| Coaching or program | Yes. Original runs 6 days at 60 to 90 minutes a day. Relaxed runs 42 days at 10 to 15 minutes a day. Personal coach with a subscription. | Pro: daily missions and an AI quit coach. Paid human advisors. | Workbook and guided journaling in Sober Plus | No coaching or structured program |
Prices change, so check the store listing before you buy.
QuitSure
Structured quit-nicotine program with video lessons, coaching and a money-back guarantee.
- Platforms: iPhone and Android apps
- Price: Free download with a 3-day trial on iOS. QuitSure Original is about $40 to $50 per month and Relaxed is about $20 to $25 per month, depending on country.
- Account: Yes, an account is required
What it does well
- A clear program with a set end date, in two paces.
- You keep using nicotine until quit day, which lowers the pressure to start.
- It has a published outcome study (a 2024 survey of people who finished the program) and a money-back guarantee with conditions.
Full comparison: Fogless vs QuitSure
Smoke Free
Long-running quit-smoking tracker with a free core, a Pro plan with daily missions and an AI coach, and paid human advisors.
- Platforms: iPhone, Apple Watch and Android apps
- Price: Core features free. Pro and advisor plans are paid in-app purchases on iOS ranging from $0.99 to $209.99.
- Account: Optional, used to back up and restore data
What it does well
- The free version shows all the core quit stats with no paywall.
- A support ladder from chatbot to group clinics to a 1:1 advisor.
- The company reports six studies, including three randomized controlled trials. The App Store shows about 57,000 ratings averaging 4.8.
Full comparison: Fogless vs Smoke Free
I Am Sober
Free sobriety counter with a daily pledge and a very large community. Covers more than 100 habits.
- Platforms: iPhone, Apple Watch, Mac and Android apps
- Price: Free. Sober Plus on iOS: $9.99 per month, $27.49 for 6 months, $29.99 or $39.99 for 12 months.
- Account: Optional. The app can be used anonymously. An account needs an email.
What it does well
- Covers far more habits than most trackers, all in one app.
- The free tier is generous and works without an account.
- The daily pledge, milestones and other people's stories give a lot of daily support. The App Store shows about 189,000 ratings averaging 4.9.
Full comparison: Fogless vs I Am Sober
Fogless
A free quit tracker that runs in your browser, with a one-minute brain check: reaction time, number memory and a focus test, scored against your own first result.
- Platforms: Any web browser: iPhone, Android, desktop. Can be added to the home screen and works offline.
- Price: Free. Pro is $4.99 per month or $29 per year.
- Account: No account. No email.
What it does not have
- No community or peer support.
- No coaching or structured program.
- No app store app; it runs in the browser and can be added to your home screen.
Take the free 1-minute brain check
Questions
Which apps to quit vaping have a structured program?
QuitSure has a program in two paces (6 days or 42 days) with a personal coach on a subscription. Smoke Free Pro has daily missions and an AI quit coach, with paid human advisors. I Am Sober has a workbook in Sober Plus. Fogless has no program.
Does Smoke Free cover vaping?
Its store listings describe smoking and tobacco. Vaping support is not stated in the listings.
Which ones are free?
Fogless, Smoke Free and I Am Sober have free versions with paid upgrades. QuitSure is a free download with a 3-day trial on iOS, then a subscription.
Sources
- QuitSure: App Store listing
- QuitSure: QuitSure subscriptions FAQ
- QuitSure: JMIR Human Factors study, 2024
- Smoke Free: App Store listing
- Smoke Free: Google Play listing
- Smoke Free: Smoke Free FAQ
- I Am Sober: App Store listing
- I Am Sober: Google Play listing
- I Am Sober: I Am Sober FAQ
All app names are trademarks of their owners. Fogless is not affiliated with any of them.